Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Calling Lea_Lea and others...a year from now I'll be working in the UK; help me decide where!

Search

Calling Lea_Lea and others...a year from now I'll be working in the UK; help me decide where!

Search this Thread

Old Jun 4th, 2006, 04:31 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am a speech therapist and have initiated my placement for employment for a year (at least) somewhere in the UK. It's up to my husband and I to narrow it down to where.

Positions are rarely available in London or Edinburgh so they are out. Neither of us have ever lived in a city and have loved doing such on trips to Paris and Rome, so we've ruled-in city. My daughter spent a year of college in London and in traipsing about became enamored of Scotland so that's her vote (she's not going though ). The woman who owns the business/does the placement loves Scotland as well and tells me it will remind me a lot of Maine (where we live). We don't really need that as we are trying for a different experience (and certainly it may be different enough to be in a foreign country and in a city so that something like home would be familiar).

So anyhow, I'm sort of leaning toward Wales as it's a bit more south and a bit more temperate compared to Scotland--I've been monitoring weather for a few months. My husband is leaning toward Scotland. We're not averse to anything and certainly England is not ruled out. Oh, being close-ish to the ocean would be good.

So tell me about where you live/where you've spent a lot of time and anything at all you'd like to add.

Thanks,
Linda
Old Jun 4th, 2006, 05:04 AM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
A lot depends on WHERE in Scotland and Wales. Glasgow? Cardiff? Or are there openings in smaller towns/cities like Aberdeen, Inverness, Aberystwyth? If you want a large-ish city - your choices are very limited in both Wales and Scotland.