Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

How should we make our way from Zurich to Southern Tuscany?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 21st, 2009, 06:21 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

We (DH and I - in our 70's, pretty well-traveled) have just used up all our FF points to score Business class flights to Zurich next June, with return from Milan three weeks later.

We will have 11 days to get from Zurich to the Val d'Orcia, where we will join our friends for a week at a large country house at La Foce, the lovely gardens/property there.

This is an overabundance of joy for me, but we need to decide what to do with that time.
We have talked about the following:

1. a few days in the Dolomites -(gotten ideas from you all on where to stay)

2. driving over the Alps, after a couple of days in Kusnacht,near Zurich (where I studied once at the Jung Institute)

3. taking the Bernina Express down to Como and then to Milan - then renting a car to drive down to Tuscany (just got that idea from PALENQUE, thanks.)

4. stopping on the way if we can somehow get to see the sculpture garden at Le Celle near Lucca.

So, I will feel perfectly comfortable training or driving or whatever anywhere in Italy, even though we're getting long in the tooth, if we have ideas from you wonderful Fodorites.

Could you please share ideas or give us tips and hints on what to do?? Am I biting off more than I can chew??
Old Sep 21st, 2009, 07:06 PM

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
If you pick up a car in Switzerland and drop in Italy you will have a big drop-off fee.
Old Sep 21st, 2009, 07:17 PM

Hi taconictraveler---we will be doing a similar trip next June with our daughters, flying in and out of Zürich, but traveling to Tuscany. We plan to travel all by train, but that doens't mean it would be right for you too.

kybourbon has a good point about the drop fees for one-way rentals. Do check that out before you choose that option.