Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Groceries/Markets in the Amalfi "Mountains"?

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 16th, 2011, 07:10 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi experienced travelers!

We are total newbies and are looking into renting an apartment on the Amalfi Coast. We plan on relaxing and enjoying each other's company (it's our honeymoon)...

The place isn't in Amalfi per say, it's in between Amalfi and Atrani... I realise there's the SITA buses that run on the coastal road, but we were wondering if it's going to be difficult to get some food to cook on our own?

This might be a really stupid question, lol! I just want to check if we should be looking into renting a car or not... We would prefer not to, but if it's going to make our lives easier than we'll look into it...

We're also trying to come up with a food budget for that 1 week stay

Any help would be appreciated!!!
Thanks!

Catherine
Old May 16th, 2011, 07:11 AM
Original Poster

Here's a link to see where the place is exactly:
http://www.summerinitaly.com/eng/ren...p?codcasa=0078
Old May 16th, 2011, 07:52 AM

We've stayed in that particular apartment a few years ago. The "estate" is in Castiglione di Ravello, along the road to Amalfi and a few minutes to the road going up to Ravello.

As far as groceries...they have a small supermarket in Amalfi itself, as well as in Minori.

I know there are buses up to Ravello and Amalfi but I don't know how frequent they are.If you do end up renting a car, the villa (which consists of several apartments) has parking (across it), so that will not be a problem.
Old May 16th, 2011, 08:05 AM

My wife and I honeymooned near by six years ago, it was a delight.