Budget Hotels in Paris (** or below)

Sep 9th, 2000, 05:25 PM
Pdv28

Budget Hotels in Paris (** or below)

Does anyone know the Hotel du Lys(**) in the 6eme? I know the address and telephone #, etc, but am wondering if anybody has actually stayed here? It seems to be in a good location, but I have no idea what kind of room I would end up with.

I am also curious whether anyone has stayed at or knows info on the Hotel Des Grands Degres in the 5th. It has no stars in the book "Cheap Sleeps in Paris" and I am curious whether this hotel is quaint and charming or dungy and dumpy?

Any and all comments are welcomed!
Thanks!!
Patricia

Sep 9th, 2000, 07:34 PM
Carol

Hi Patricia,
Sorry I have no personal experience of these hotels but you can check what others have to say about them at
http://www.paris.org/Hotels/
when you search at this site look under Lys du. There are two by that name, not sure which you are refering to, anyway check it out, it's a great site.

Sep 9th, 2000, 07:50 PM
Donna

I've found "Cheap Sleeps" to be highly reliable. Note that folks are often reluctant to post comments on the travel boards regarding special "finds", lest they become overrun and the rates go way up.

Sep 9th, 2000, 08:19 PM
Pdv28

Carol,
Thanks for the site! I did get to read some customer comments! I wonder --for those out there who have stayed here--if they offer any attic/sloped rooms on the top floor?

Thanks again Carol!
Patricia

Sep 9th, 2000, 08:32 PM
Pdv28

Donna,

I'm hoping to urge people to please share their great finds! After all, what's the fun, if we can't share-- inserts a true French pout!!!

Would anyone know anymore about either of these hotels? I would like to inquire what the rooms look like, the views, and if it is possible to acquire an attic/sloped room on the top floor?

Thanks again to Donna (a big French smile of gratitude!)
and thanks (in advance)to everyone else who can help!!! *********************

Patricia

Sep 9th, 2000, 09:19 PM
Carol