Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Budget Hostels - Spain/Italy: Reservations how far in advance?

May 24th, 2007, 06:28 AM
Original Poster

Hi,

Any backpackers familiar with Spain and Italy in the summer? I need your help!

I'll be travelling to Spain and Italy this summer. In July, I'm hitting up Palma, Valencia, Grenada, Tarifa, Seville, Madrid, San Sebastian, and Barcelona. Then flying at beginning of August to Florence, Rome, Tropea, Taormina, and Palermo.

I'm a student and I'm travelling alone so I prefer to stay at budget hostels - cheap and easy to meet other travellers. My question is: how far in advance do I need to book? I know it's high season, but I'm not a big fan of planning out in advance how many days to spend in each place - it would be great to have the flexibility to stay as long as I'm enjoying the place, then leave when I want to move on. But if I do this, will all places be booked up, leaving me no place to stay in the next city?

I'm not sure if I should just sit down and make all my reservations now, just to be safe. I know there are websites like hostelworld.com that i can use.

Thanks very much in advance for any advice from backpackers who have been to these places!!

Jasmine
May 24th, 2007, 06:58 AM

Let's Go Europe or even better Let's Go Spain and Let's Go Italy will be invaluable to answering these types of questions - unparalleled coverage of hostels and budget accommodations.