Search

Ancient Greece

Search this Thread

Old Nov 4th, 2016, 07:28 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ancient Greece

I am planning to fly to Athens in early June for 9-10 days. It is my first time in Greece and I very much would like to explore Ancient Greece (I am taking a course on Homeric Poetry!). What main attractions should I see in Athens? (2-3 days). From Athens, I have been recommended to go by bus Nauplion from which I can easily visit Mycenae, Tiryns and Epidauros which has the best preserved theatre on the mainland. I also would like to visit Delphi. I was also recommended to visit Aegina island. Any other island?

I would like to hear the recommendations of those who have been in these places. I am travelling alone. I am not young but I am not old. I do not walk with three legs.

Many many thanks!!! Cecilia
Old Nov 4th, 2016, 09:22 AM

Sounds like you have a pretty decent plan already. There are several ancient sites around the Acropolis and two or three days should give you ample opportunity to find and explore them all. Of course there is the Acropolis museum and the National Archeological Museums as well.
Athens http://www.flickr.com/photos/stanbr5...7632121475515/

I would be tempted to do Delphi next. While it can be done in a day it is a three hour bus ride each way so you will have crowds and not a whole lot of time for the museum and the site. I would suggest you time your arrival for late afternoon or early evening. Find a hotel and visit the museum. Enjoy the marvelous view down the mountain to the Gulf of Corinth. Next morning get to the site at opening. You will have it virtually to yourself probably about three hours before the first tour buses arrive.
When you are finished take the bus back to Athens then transfer to Nafplio. There are buses virtually every hour for most of the day.
Olympia Delphi Meteora https://www.flickr.com/photos/stanbr...7645469717811/