COVID-19 Travel Advisory: Stay up to date with the latest on the coronavirus pandemic.   Learn More >

Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

booked london hotel need more info on area

Old Oct 26th, 2006, 09:22 PM
Original Poster

I booked my London hotel through priceline, I got the Hilton London Olympia on Kensington High Street. I just wanted a little more information on the area. I did a search here on the forums, but wanted to know are there a lot of places to eat within walking distance, are there things to do nearby?

I tried to look on mappy.com to see where the tube stations were, but for whatever reason it wouldn't show the tube or bus stops. So I'll try google for a map of the public transportation.

This is my first time going to London so any info will help and I'll keep looking at the boards here for useful info also.

Thanks,
M.
Old Oct 27th, 2006, 03:50 AM

You'll find lots around there. Nice area. Go up Kensington Church St for some more shopping if you like antiques, etc. & also some restaurants & pubs.

http://tinyurl.com/yxuaz5
Old Oct 27th, 2006, 04:08 AM

Hi Sonja,

I have lived here for 12 yrs and High St Kensington is still one of my favourite spots in London. Everything you need (transport links, shops, restaurants/cafes etc) is right at your doorstep. However if you choose to eat elsewhere transport is very regular in London and everywhere is easy to get to. I wouldn't even worry about what you are worrying about. Its great position.

Old Oct 27th, 2006, 04:17 AM

I've no idea what mappy is.

But if you want a map of the tube stations and bus stops around a location in London, go to tfl.gov.uk. On the homepage, you'll find a journey planner at the top right hand corner.