Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   "Bombay Dreams" London (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/bombay-dreams-london-377208/)

KenCT Nov 18th, 2003 10:15 AM

"Bombay Dreams" London

It's opening in NY in March, I'm wondering if I should catch it in London, where it is apparently available at the tkts booth. Anyone seen it? What's the word?

Frances Nov 18th, 2003 02:06 PM

I saw this in January when our whole family went to see it for my Mum's birthday. I really enjoyed it-in fact we all did including my Dad!

KenCT Nov 18th, 2003 03:05 PM

Thanks, Frances. I did a search for "Bombay Dreams" on this board after I posted - Should have done it beforehand, I suppose. Most people who have seen it seem to have enjoyed it. Hope it's available at TKTS when I'm there between Christmas and New Years.

Then, when it's opening in New York I can indulge my guilty pleasure of informing my NY theatre maniac friends, "Been there, done that, have the CD."

Chicagotraveler Nov 19th, 2003 05:59 PM

I just saw Bombay Dreams in London on 11/15/03. I thought the play was good, not great. The first act is very slow, and the play overall is disjointed. Some of the singing is great, and the dancing in the second act is outstanding. It's got some very familiar Andrew Lloyd Weber sounds and themes. Not many memorable songs. Costumes are great. However, I expected much better. So, I'd say it's decent but nothing special.

Patrick Nov 20th, 2003 06:32 PM

I think it's interesting that it has some "very familiar Andrew Lloyd Weber sounds and themes". It was my impression that he had nothing in the world to do with the writing or composing of this show, although he helped back its London production. What I've heard of the score is that almost irritating (to me) Indian music sound.

JonJon Nov 21st, 2003 12:54 AM