Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Bob is not happy ! (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/bob-is-not-happy-768612/)

bobthenavigator Feb 20th, 2009 10:59 AM

Bob is not happy !

I have been hanging out here since early 1996. That is 13 years now--or over 4700 days. Most of those days I have visited my favorite travel forum right here. Now, it is so darn slow I am falling asleep, and it will not even let me reply to a post. I know that I am set in my ways, but at my age maybe I have a right to be. The advantage of the new format escapes me. Tell me you did a beta test with some Fodorites before you launched this piece of doo doo. Bob is not happy !

iris1745 Feb 20th, 2009 11:03 AM

Hi Bob; Not sure what is happening, but everything is working within seconds on my computer at 3pm. Just like it was this morning and then slowed up about noon. Fine now. Iris

Travelnut Feb 20th, 2009 11:04 AM

Bob, I think there is occasionally some 'instability' (ex. not being able to reply) because Fodors is constantly modifying the site, based on the loads of feedback they've received.
I'm kind of set in my ways, too, and seem to be coping very will by simply utilizing the 'recent activity' archives only. That is fairly close to scrolling the old "50 per list" method.
The fonts and bolds, etc, have been improved - they've added some additional navigation buttons. Hang in there!! You're the NAVIGATOR, you will learn to navigate this, too :)

Sarastro Feb 20th, 2009 11:12 AM

Bob, I understand your frustration. I think that there is indeed additional tweaking taking place as we <STRIKE>speak</STRIKE> write.

Ultimately things will be better and in many respects I believe they really are better already.

mclaurie Feb 20th, 2009 11:17 AM