6 Days in Rome....On Our Way to Umbria Today

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 9th, 2012, 01:45 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've never done a Trip Report before, but I've gotten so much help from this board for this and other trips, it is time to do a Trip Report on our current trip.
This may be too much detail about the wrong things for some, but hope it is interesting for most.

Our trip is a 3 week trip, from September 2-23, to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We are pretty seasoned Europe travelers and have been to Italy once previously, to Venice, Florence and Tuscany.

Day 1—MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 2

Flight from SFO to Zurich to Rome
Arrived in Rome around 7 p.m. on September 3. We had done carry-on so pretty much sailed right through. Didn’t even have to get a stamp on our passport, which worries us a bit. Hope we don’t have any problems when we leave.
Through our hotel we had arranged a car pickup to Hotel Santa Maria. http://www.htlsantamaria.com/ and there he was, with a sign with our name on it. As we get older, this type of expense seems more and more worth it.
Crazy drive, eventually winding our way through narrow streets of Trastevere and then we were there. At that point, I was so glad we had splurged for the car pickup since we never would have found the place.
Had a bit of an adventure with air conditioning, the person at the desk didn’t know how to make it cool, but called someone and it worked out fine. The room we had requested, #1, based on Trip Advisor reviews, worked out great, since it is a little out of the way in the back and has its own little sitting area.
Went to take a shower and found out I couldn’t turn the hot water off. The desk guy, who was now different than the woman who helped us with the air conditioning, did a work-around in which we had to turn on and off the valves below the bidet, promising we would be fixed tomorrow. I trusted him, and tried not to get too cranky.