Best florentine steak in Florence?

Feb 17th, 2007, 03:42 AM
ylt
Original Poster

Best florentine steak in Florence?

The title is pretty self-explanatory, I hope... which restaurant in Florence serves the best bistecca alla fiorentina, in your opinion? (we do like our steak on the rare side, which I hear is to be expected...) We are going next week and looking for suggestions. Thanks in advance!
Feb 17th, 2007, 08:36 AM

ylt,

I'm not an expert on restaurants in Florence, but we had wonderful steaks at Parione, via del Parione, 74/76R.

I remember that the restaurant was packed with Italian-speaking diners.

Byrd

Feb 17th, 2007, 08:53 AM

The place most often touted as being the best for bistecca is Sostanza, Via dei Porcellana, 25 not far from the train station. Saveur magazine did a spread on them not too long ago. Eating is at communal tables and there are two seatings a night at 7:30 and 9pm; reservations are essential. They are also famous for a chicken dish and for an artichoke dish.

I do not think there is any one "best " place for bistecca, though. Because of the difficulty of getting a seat at Sostanza, the place I might try is in the Oltrarno, south of the river and to the west. It is a bit of a walk from the Duomo area but prices are moderate and the food is excellent. If you want to read details of one of my meals there, scroll through my trip report. I did not have the steak on the night the report talks about but have had it in the past and it is great.

http://www.anticoristorodicambi.it/

Here is the food report:

http://www.fodors.com/forums/threads...2&tid=34743272

Be aware that although you will find steak on many menus, the price varies quite a bit within Florence. You will see bistecca prices per etto or one hundred grams; the price on the menu will not be the total; that will depend on the weight of the steak.