Best day for Segway tours and questions about walking tours and excursions

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 30th, 2010, 08:27 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Planning our first visit to Paris in June 2010. It will be myself, DH, and our two teens. The task of planning the itinerary once more is on my shoulders (and I'm no expert). Armed with three guide books and lengthy notes from Fodors' forums, I am frankly quite overwhelmed.

For the fortunate who live in Paris or who know her quite well, do you know if there's a better day to schedule segway tours? I was hoping that we could actually enjoy looking at the sights instead of mostly concentrating on the driving part in order to avoid hitting the pedestrians.

We're also planning to do several walking tours with either Private Tours Paris http://www.private-tours-paris.com/paris.html or Paris Walks http://www.paris-walks.com/download-pdf.html. Specifically the Montmartre/Sacre Couer and the Ile de la Cite/Notre Dame tours. Will take other tours if we have more time. Has anyone tried a custom tour? May I get some recommendations?

Also planning to see Versailles and Giverny. We'd rather not drive (rookies, y'all), so a bus or van tour. Is this best done on separate days so we can spend a longer time in both places? We'll be in Paris for 10 days.

Finally, is it a good idea to ride on the hop-on hop-off buses on our first day? We're arriving at 6:05 a.m. (?!). While it's likely that we won't be able to move into our apartment that early, we can arrange to store our luggage in the office so we can start playing tourist. Some of you may think it's redundant to do the ho-ho tour in addition to the Segway tour, but the latter is mostly for the enjoyment of our two teenagers (ok, and their parents too).

Any help you can provide will be much appreciated!
Old Mar 30th, 2010, 08:43 AM