Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Best 1st time cities/towns? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/best-1st-time-cities-towns-624252/)

JBQ Jun 17th, 2006 05:56 AM

Best 1st time cities/towns?

I am trying to decide between doing a ten day trip to Portugal and Spain or just Spain. What would be a good first trip plan for first timers to Spain? My husband and I are in our "very" early 30s, active,and love experiencing local food and culture. As a history teacher, I love to see the sites but more importantly I love to experience the culture. So with that being said what would be a easy and realistic plan for a 10 day trip this August for just Spain or Spain and Portugal?

speckles Jun 17th, 2006 07:02 AM

I can't help you with your query, but suggest (as others will) that you repost your question with the words Portugal and Spain in the header as a lot of people on this site only read what is of interest to them. This way you will get more help from those who know about Spain and Portugal.

bobthenavigator Jun 17th, 2006 07:17 AM

You may not like the answer but I would not do Spain in August. If you must, then do the northern coast from San Sebastian to Asturias. It takes 4 weeks to see Spain---Andalusia is the best part but not in August.

janisj Jun 17th, 2006 07:25 AM

I agree w/ both speckles and bobthenavigator -- re-post w/ a better title, and Spain (or most of it anyway) is HOT in August.

nessundorma Jun 17th, 2006 07:33 AM

I think two weeks in Spain alone is the better plan if you really want to take time to experience the culture -- or I should say cultureS -- of Spain.

I agree with the advice that Spain in August is hot, hot, hot. If it were me, I would look at touring the Atlantic coast of Spain rather than the Mediterranean.