Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Berlin Trip Report 11/07 (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/berlin-trip-report-11-07-a-749625/)

Surie Nov 20th, 2007 07:14 AM

Berlin Trip Report 11/07

This is my first attempt at a report, so please bear with me! My daughter moved to Berlin in September. She had spent the summer she graduated from college there and then taught English in Austria for a year, and couldn't wait to move back to Berlin. A good friend of mine had gone with me on the spur of the moment to visit her in Linz and Vienna last fall and that trip was so much fun that we wanted to do it again.

We flew nonstop from Newark on Continental which I've done before and it had been fine. This time the plane was packed and it was a tight squeeze in coach. Even my Ambien didn't help too much.

We arrived on time, got through Tegel airport quickly and got a taxi to our hotel. (about 20E) We stayed in Prenzlauerberg at the Myer's Hotel which my daughter had found for us because it was a short walk from her apartment. It's a small hotel set back from the street through a courtyard and we liked it immediately. My daughter arrived just as we did, and my friend's room was ready so we all checked it out and then headed off to see the neighborhood.

My daughter took us to Anna Blumen, a cafe with maybe a flower shop attached-- I can't remember now, but it was very nice! She parked us there for coffee while she went to meet someone. When she got back, we walked around and stopped for lunch at Pasternak, another great little restaurant with a Russian influence. The food was good and we each had a glass of grauer burgunder from the Pfalz region which was lovely.