Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   benelux-france rail pass (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/benelux-france-rail-pass-711866/)

Hapitrip Jun 9th, 2007 06:46 PM

benelux-france rail pass

Hi all, I am a new member and this is my first time to post. I need some advise from all euro trains experienced travellers.
We are a couple going to Europe in September (our 2nd time - we got bitten by the travel bug !! .
We are arriving at Amsterdam - going straight to Brugge(stay 3 nights)-
travel to Antwerp (stay 3 nights) -
travel to Paris (stay 3 nights)- and finally to Amsterdam (5 nights).
I received an estimate from our travel agent who called Eurorail that the pass for benelux-France is around Cad$316 not yet including seat reservation fees. We cannot book yet as it should be at least 3 mos prior to first leg of the trip.
Can someone advise if it is cheaper to go this way or just buy intercity trains and other trains (ex Thalys) and buying these at the station a day or two before we leave the city? Does buying in the rail pass in advance more convenient even if it is not cheaper?
thank you all for your help!!

ira Jun 10th, 2007 03:41 AM

Hi H,

Enter your itinerary at www.railsaver.com and click "only if it saves money".

If it says not to get a pass, you can believe it.

You can look up prices at www.ns.nl and www.voyages-sncf.com

May I suggest 2 nights in Brugge, 4 nights in Amsterdam and 7 nights in Paris?

Enjoy your visit.

((I))

niadanac_ma_i Jun 21st, 2007 12:22 PM

Hi there,