Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Barcelona Trip Report Part 1, Hotel & Restaurants 6/24-7/4/03 (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/barcelona-trip-report-part-1-hotel-and-restaurants-6-24-7-4-03-a-334691/)

zekieboo Jul 7th, 2003 05:47 PM

Barcelona Trip Report Part 1, Hotel & Restaurants 6/24-7/4/03

Just returned from 10 days in Barcelona. Wanted to post info to help others since I got great info from this board. I am a teacher so needless to say, I couldn't afford to eat at four star restaurants all week and to stay at the Ritz!

Hotel: Hotel Regencia Colon, Sagristans 13, Barcelona, Tel: 93 318 9858
93EU for single room, including breakfast, excluding 7% tax. Very helpful and accommodating staff, spoke English. The hotel does not have a restaurant but shares the restaurant at the Hotel Colon.
Pros: Nice, quiet location, clean, a/c, helpful and attentive staff. Be sure to ask for the highest floor available (floors 2-5 have guest rooms).
Cons: Walls were paper-thin, I could hear my neighbor sneeze. Difficult to use calling cards from room phone, the phones are set on pulse and cannot be changed to tone.

Restaurants:
Specchio Magico, Luis Antunez 1, tel: 93 415 3371 (Gracia)
Italian, excellent food and service, generous portions, a/c, small but comfortable and inviting. 70EU for 2 ppl including everything but dessert. Reservations suggested.

Sec (7) Portes, Passeig Isabel II, 14 Tel: 93 319 3033