Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Architecture trip Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/architecture-trip-europe-1014291/)

Lenska May 14th, 2014 11:19 AM

Architecture trip Europe

Hi

Im a female architecture student in my 20s and am wanting to travel in December/Jan by myself to Europe. I have about 2 weeks and would like to see Germany, Denmark, Poland and Italy. I know this is a bit much for 2 weeks so am happy to cut it to just 2 countries. I need advise on the following:
-which two countries would be best to concur.. i am leaning towards Germany and Italy but is this practical? I am happy to maybe just see 1 city in each, for example a week in Rome a week in Berlin
- I will be traveling at the end of December and early January and am concerned about places being open
-I am very passionate about architecture and would like my trip to revolve around this, where would be the best cities to go to in each country?
- I will be alone so I am worried about my safely- which would be the safest countries/cities to visit?
- I was also wondering what would be the best way to move between counties- some people say air and others say train?

IMDonehere May 14th, 2014 11:26 AM

As you can well imagine the architecture of Italy is layered by the centuries and some of the best Greek antiquities are in Sicily.

BTW Barcelona probably has the most interesting architecture between the Gothic structures and the moderisme of Gaudi and Puig.

Warsaw was totally destroyed by WWII, but the architecture in Krakow is varied.

Ackislander May 14th, 2014 11:31 AM

Historic architecture or modern architecture?

The Monuments (the Ten Great Buildings) or representative buildings in their settings?

Vernacular or designed?

One architect or a school?