Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Apt Rentals... do you carry your passport with you?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 15th, 2004, 11:24 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Just wondering, since this is my first time renting apartments in Paris and London... whereas in previous trips where I stayed in hotels I carried my passport, airline tix--everything--in my money belt.

Should we feel safe enough to keep our passports in the apartments, or should we follow our usual security protocol and carry them with us at all times.

What do you do?

Thanks,
Kat
Old Aug 16th, 2004, 02:29 AM
ira

Hi sk,

Wondering why you think an apt might be more secure than a hotel.
Old Aug 16th, 2004, 02:41 AM

ira's right. i would never assume this.

you have to assume that service people and others may have keys to your apartment just like people have access to your hotel room.

to answer the question, sometimes i bring it, sometimes i hide it in the apt (and i know that this is in no way foolproof and not recommended).
Old Aug 16th, 2004, 05:56 AM

We typically hide our original in the apartment and keep a copy with us during the day.
Old Aug 16th, 2004, 05:58 AM

If there is no safe, we generally put ours in the suitcase and put the lock on the suitcase.
Old Aug 16th, 2004, 06:32 AM
Original Poster

Ira, , I don't, my husband does. He thinks we should feel very safe leaving it in the apartment, I take the "worst case scenario" approach and always carry it with me. With a baby now, daddy's the one who's going to be schlepping them around, and I don't think he wants to.

Thanks all,
Kat
Old Aug 16th, 2004, 06:36 AM
dln

Last year in Rome, we carried everything with us but by the second day we left it all in the apartment.

Old Aug 16th, 2004, 06:45 AM
Original Poster