April in Italy

Old Sep 5th, 2018, 01:22 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
April in Italy

Hi everyone,
My wife and I are planning a trip to Italy to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary from 6th - 21st April 2019
I'm thinking of flying to Rome, then catching a train to Sorrento / Positano as a base to explore the Amalfi Coast and then catch a train to Florence, before flying home.
I've heard that a lot of things might be closed before Easter on the Amalfi Coast, is this true? Unfortunately I'm restricted to those 2 week before Easter, because I'm a teacher.
I wondered what everyone's thoughts on how long to spend in each area and what is the best way to do the Amalfi Coast for someone who's never been before? Is it best to move hotels every couple of days, or just stay one place and do day trips? We definitely want to visit Capri, so any tips on how to do that would be great.
thanks!

Last edited by dvdgrdnr; Sep 5th, 2018 at 01:27 PM.
Old Sep 5th, 2018, 01:54 PM

>>> I'm thinking of flying to Rome, .....then catch a train to Florence, before flying home.
Have you actually looking at flight booking sites to see if there are actual flights with schedule, layover considerations, carrier preferences, and the prices acceptable to you?
Old Sep 5th, 2018, 02:14 PM

A train to Sorrento from Rome Airport after flying all night may not be much fun but I assume you are staying in Rome a few days? Trains to Sorrento involve taking a train from Rome to Naples Centrale then shuttling over via walkways to the CircumVesuviana narrow-gauge train line to Sorrento then by bus to Positano (many folks like doing a private driver Naples to Positano which is much more dreamy than Sorrento, a neat watering hole but with few rave views over the sea like from Positano.

Sorrento makes a utilitarian base though if going to Pompeii -short train ride - or Capri and Amalfi.