Appropriate Dress in Turkey

Old May 24th, 2010, 05:48 PM
Original Poster

Appropriate Dress in Turkey

I have a question about what is considered appropriate dress in Turkey.

I have heard that shorts are not appropriate in many places, but to wear slacks that go past the knee. Does this mean that a capri pant that goes to mid-calf would be appropriate to wear in all places - even to a mosque?

Would this be similar for shirts - anything with a sleeve past the elbow would be appropriate to wear all over Turkey?

I'm trying to pack as little as possible, and bring the most comfortable clothes for all of the walking we will be doing. Really the only full-length slacks I have are for the Winter... so I'm hoping the capris will be ok.
Old May 24th, 2010, 06:35 PM

blepharisma,

One thing you should tell us a little more about is where you will be travelling in Turkey.

I'm no expert, but I'll give you my response while trying not to overgeneralize. In general, I don't think it's a matter of "rules," but rather a respect and sensitivity to those who live in the country hosting you.

In Istanbul, I think you will generally find that most people will dress in a "European" style. Certainly many women will be dressed in hijab (head scarf and light top coat), but you will generally see what you see in any major European city. You will probably see young women dressed in skimpy outfits that would get raised eyebrows in Omaha. What the locals are wearing doesn't necessarily tell you what you as a visitor should wear, but it does give you context.

In beach resorts, the dress is very casual and relaxed.