Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Anyone Redeemed Starwood Points for Hotels in Italy? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/anyone-redeemed-starwood-points-for-hotels-in-italy-172614/)

nicole Mar 15th, 2002 10:57 AM

Anyone Redeemed Starwood Points for Hotels in Italy?

Wondering about using my Starwood points for hotels in Italy--I am using Starwood points for hotels in Venice (Danieli), Florence (Excelsior) and Rome (Excelsior) this July this is my first time to redeem points for a stay--I've been saving them for two years for this Italy trip). When I redeeemed them I couldn't really make any requests as regards the room and I'm worried mostly about my reservation at the Danieli since everyone says to make sure you are in the historic building, etc. I am a Platinum member so I'm hoping that they will upgrade me when I arrive but I'm nervous since I'm not sure I can count on that. From experience, do they upgrade your room when you arrive? Do they treat you differently at all b/c you redeemed points for the room (ie staying there for free) rather than if you were a Starwood member paying for the room? Any comments would be appreciated. I am contemplating changing my Danieli reservation to the Westin Europa b/c I don't want to get stuck in a subpar room at the Danieli.<BR>

anyone? Mar 17th, 2002 12:12 PM

ttt

Joelle Mar 17th, 2002 11:38 PM