Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Any non-smoking hotel rooms in Paris 5e or 6e?

Old Apr 15th, 2002, 07:25 AM
Rita

Hi! I've never tried to "chat" via the internet before, but you all look like a friendly bunch! Question is this: I, my husband and 2 kids (ages 10 & 7) are going to Paris for 4 days in early June. We don't smoke and are used to availabiity of non-smoking hotel rooms. It seems Paris is full of chain-smoking people. Are there any decent hotels in the 5e or 6e that have a non-smoking room for 4 people or should I just become a smoker myself?! Help!

Old Apr 15th, 2002, 07:40 AM
elaine

Hi Rita
I don't know of any no-smoking hotel rooms, although I've been lucky enough to stay in places that have not smelled of smoke. You don't say what you want to spend. My edition of the reliable book "Cheap Sleeps in Paris"is a few years old now, but it mentions that the Libertel chain of hotels devotes at least one floor of its rooms in each hotel to non-smokers.
You can do a search on this message board for libertel hotels--one that has been recommended is the libertel bellechasse, great location, but some of the rooms seem to be exceptionally small so you need to confirm exactly what you are getting. My "Cheap Sleeps" book mentions that that hotel has suites on the upper floors, but non-smoking rooms are on the first floor. Libertel itself has a website I'm sure. The Cheap Sleeps book mentions and praises several others in Paris.
I have a file on Paris (though no info on non-smoking); if you'd like to see it, email me.

Old Apr 15th, 2002, 07:46 AM
kate

we ask for non-smoking rooms whenever we make reservations.They might not be strictly non smoking, but it helps.
You won't actually have to become a smoker,about the 3rd day in Paris, I start coughing just like I smoke a pack a day.Your clothes will smell, your hair will smell, but when you go home it will all go away,but it is WORTH IT!!
Have a great time..