Another battery charger volatage question

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 9th, 2004, 07:58 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have read many of the threads on voltage and converters and have one additional question. I have a battery charger (for AA batters, which my camera uses). It does not say dual voltage, but says input 110V, output 2X. I saw in one of the posts that as long as the OUTPUT was ok for 220V, it would work without a converter. Since my charger says 2X next to output, does anyone know if it would work?
It doesn't say who the manufacturer is, and I will go to a camera or electronics place to ask, but was just wondering if anyone here might know the answer.
Thanks.
Old Aug 9th, 2004, 08:15 AM

I'm an electrical engineer, but I can't quite make out what kind of converter you have. Normally, if the input is 110V (ac) and the output is specified as 2X, that terminology would say that the output is twice the input. So with 110V input, the output would be 220V (ac). I doubt that the "output" of 220V would be usable.

However, you don't say the charger, which usually should have an output of a few volts (dc) to charge your batteries, has such an output, which is usually on a little coaxial line.

If, however, the battery charger is configured internally such that the 110V output, when converted to DC to charge the batteries, is the right level, and IF the transformer in the charger then converts the 110V to two times the voltage, you have the possibility that the charger is designed to operate with either a 220V or 110V INPUT.

My guess, without knowing what kind of charger you have, is that both the 110V input and the thing labeled 2X are both possible inputs. This would be the case if you have a connector (plug) that is located on the 110V input and a separate connector for the 2X point. There might also be a small switch somewhere on the charger, possibly near the 2X label, that allows you to switch to a 220V INPUT.