Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   American football on TV in Paris? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/american-football-on-tv-in-paris-556026/)

KGL Sep 2nd, 2005 01:56 PM

American football on TV in Paris?

I'm a student from a Big Ten school spending the semester in Paris, and I am looking for a bar or tabac that might have American football on tv on the weekends? I can't miss a Badger game! Thanks!

BTilke Sep 2nd, 2005 02:03 PM

If you get Eurosports, you can sometimes find American football late at night (3 am). Also check with the various Irish pubs around town.
If you go up to Brussels, try FatBoys sports bar on the Place Luxembourg; they show more American sports than any place I know of in continental Europe (it's owned by a guy from Pennsylvania). Unfortunately (for you, that is) a lot of the Irish pubs/sports bars in France and Belgium are owned by the Irish or Brits, so they are more geared to showing soccer, rugby or cricket (and occasional horse races).
Aside from those possibilities, you'll have to ask your friends back home to Tivo for you.

sandi_travelnut Sep 2nd, 2005 03:03 PM

You can't miss a badger game???? Even with Paris right outside your door?

dachsund Sep 2nd, 2005 03:09 PM

Go Raiders!

AAFrequentFlyer Sep 2nd, 2005 03:19 PM

I'm a huge fan of NFL (Chicago Bears) and I do spend a lot of time in Europe. Finding NFL is possible, but college football? it won't be easy.
I've never looked into it but I know that MLB has on-line broadcasts of games as long as you are willing to pay and have high-speed internet access. Maybe NCAA has something similar. I would think that's about your only chance of seeing ANY college football game in Europe.

AnthonyGA Sep 3rd, 2005 01:54 AM

Try the Moosehead bar, at 16 rue des Quatre Vents in the Sixth. They show a lot of North American sports.

HappyCheesehead Sep 6th, 2005 08:10 PM