Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   American Express use in London (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/american-express-use-in-london-329901/)

amorse1 Jun 22nd, 2003 09:55 AM

American Express use in London

Hi,
I'm a student going to London for my first time for a month...I'm curious as to how widely accepted AmEx is there.
Also, I have heard from many that ATM cards are the way to get cash at the lowest rate but my parents are insistent on me taking travellers checks (they're very anti-ATM) can anyone advise as to the rate differences?

Thanks,
Adrianne

janis Jun 22nd, 2003 10:14 AM

ATM are by far the best way to get cash. Travelers Checks are very expensive. You either get £ travelers checks which are expensive to buy, or you get $ travelers checks which are expensive to cash. either way you pay 10% or more to use travelers checks. You can take a few $ TCs for an emergency back-up stash. But you will save a LOT of money using an ATM card.

As for Amex - Usage is pretty much like the States. Not as widely accepted as Visa/MC, but still good many/most places.

andy Jun 22nd, 2003 10:15 AM

amorse1==

My neice spent 6 mos in France and 6 mos in London and she only took a very very small amount of travellers checks..BUT she did take an ATM card and used it all the time....

She also got pickpocketed in the subway in London by wearing her backpack on the BACK and not on her CHEST as you are told to do going up and down the subway ramps....That is where she lost everything and my sis had to stop all credit cards .....major hassle, but stuff happens.....

curmudgeon Jun 22nd, 2003 12:57 PM