Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Amalfi Coast: Viator or on our own? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/amalfi-coast-viator-or-on-our-own-1648825/)

nkm1 Feb 19th, 2018 07:46 AM

Amalfi Coast: Viator or on our own?

Hello,

My husband and I will be staying 3 nights in Naples in July (I know it is the worst month, but I'm a teacher so I don't really get a choice). We plan to spend one of our days in Southern Italy exploring the Amalfi Coast. I've been doing a lot of research on getting around the Amalfi Coast. It looks like using public transportation is possible. The other option is to book Viator's daily Amalfi Coast tour from Naples that includes Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi, and Ravello (with most of the time spent in Amalfi and Ravello).

I need help deciding which is best. We are doing a 17-day Europe trip (London, Barcelona, Naples, Rome) and most of it is all on our own, but this seems like a lot of city-hopping to do on our own in one-day. I wouldn't say that we are experienced with public transportation (although this is near the end of the trip, so we may be by then). Do any of you have experience doing Amalfi Coast in a day on your own with public transportation? Would you recommend a bus tour or is it easy enough to figure out on your own?

Jean Feb 19th, 2018 08:27 AM

Perhaps you have reasons for staying in Naples, but my choice for a short stay would have been Sorrento which is more or less in the middle of your list of destinations. Whether you take a tour or go on your own is personal preference. The tour would not allow you to spend the majority of your time in Amalfi and Ravello, but it would take all of the stress out of the logistics.