Search

Advice on Travel Plan from Frankfurt to Dusseldorf

Search this Thread

Old Mar 16th, 2004, 10:40 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Advice on Travel Plan from Frankfurt to Dusseldorf

Hi Everyone,

I posted on this topic quite a few months ago, but now I have a solid plan. I just want to verify if this makes sense. Okay I will be flying into Frankfurt Main Airport on the 10 of April, 2004 which will probably be a busy day due to Easter Sunday. I arrive at the airport at 655 am and plan to take the 1145 am ICE (no change) train from Frankfurt Flughafen Fernbf to Dusseldorf Flughafen. I am getting a first class ticket due to the fact that I will be carrying a backpack and two large suitcases (about 15-20 kilos each). Since I am new to europe I anticipate the need to figure out where the train station (Terminal 1) is and how to go about getting on and off the train with so much luggage, hence the 4 hour wait between arrival and departure from the train station. If there are any suggestions please advise since I have yet to buy my train ticket.

Thanks.
Old Mar 16th, 2004, 10:54 PM
Original Poster

Also, I forgot to add that I will be buying my ticket online since I am currently in India. The only problem is that to buy an online ticket (bahn.de) the page is only in german. Is there any alternative to this.
Thanks.
Old Mar 17th, 2004, 01:16 AM
JonJon

Since you are arriving so early I would still consider taking the 0945 departure for Dusseldorf which also requires no changes. The railroad station at the Frankfort airport is integrated into the terminal buildings and is easy to reach. I cannot imagine it would take you more than two hours to clear Customs/Immigration unless the plane arrives very late.