Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Advice needed for 3 week trip Germany, France, Spain

Oct 6th, 2002, 11:07 PM
Leslie

I'm just beginning to plan a three week summer trip (one week in each country) to these three countries w/ kids aged 12 and 15. Coming from Los Angeles.

Without getting into too many specifics at this early stage, could use expert advice on the best way to lay out an itinerary to get from one major area to the next when each week is up. Willing to rent a car in each country but don't see it as the way to relocate.

We do need to keep the cost under control. Don't mind overnight train or flying but I don't really know the European train system that well nor what routes are flown by the low cost carriers within Europe. Do know about the TGV Paris to Avignon and the AVE Madrid to Sevilla. Here's the general idea:

Germany - want to see some of Bavaria and the Romantic Road, Salzburg too if not too ambitious. Have alaready been to the Rhineland. Could fly into Frankfurt or Munich.

France - want to go to Paris for 2 - 3 days (been there before) and pick either the Normandy or Provence areas for 4-5 days.

Spain - Would like to either see Andalucia, starting out/ending in Madrid or Barcelona and (?) perhaps Segovia/Toledo/Avila/Madrid. Could home from Madrid or Barcelona perhaps?

Here's one thought..Is there a better way to lay this out?

Fly into Frankfurt, drive Romantic Road to Fussen and Garmisch areas, ending in Munich for a couple days.

Fly(overnight train?) to Paris for a few days. Then take TGV to Avignon, see a little of Provence, ending in (where? Nice?)

Fly Nice to Madrid, tour Andalucia, fly home from Madrid.

If we did the Normandy area instead of Provence (maybe more interesting to the kids?) how best to get to Spain from there? Return to Paris and fly? Should we look to use Orly or CDG?

Thanks so much.

Oct 7th, 2002, 12:01 AM
mpprh

Hi

Lots of questions !