Question on train from Munich to Nuernberg around Christmas

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 19th, 2016, 02:11 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This is my first time in Germany. I am flying in to Munich on the 23rd and planning to go to Nuernberg directly from Munich airport; however, I have no idea about taking which train, it would be great if I could get some advice. Thank you so much.
Old Sep 19th, 2016, 02:19 AM

There are RE, RB, and ICE trains that regularly run from Munich to Nuremberg.

Go here: https://www.bahn.de/p_en/view/index.shtml

And for origin type "Munich Airport" and destination Nuremberg. Then pick the date and time and you're good to go. You'll take a S Bahn train from the Munich airport to the Munich Mainstation (Bahnhof) and catch a train from the main station to Nuremberg. It's pretty straightforward.
Old Sep 19th, 2016, 04:53 AM

Hi MsGor,

The cheapest ticket will likely be the Bavaria Ticket, and you can only use regional trains (RE, RB) for those.

Using the site sparkchaser gave you above, click on "Only local transport," and you'll get the result only for trains you can use the Bavaria Ticket on.

Have fun as you plan!

s
Old Sep 19th, 2016, 05:43 AM

Taking the ICE implies that you buy either an expensive flexible ticket or an inexpensive Sparpreis ticket bound to a specific train; in the latter case, however, you risk loosing your money if your flight is late. I'd buy a Bayern Ticket (23 E) and take one of the RE's that run on the ICE route (called "Nürnberg Express" locally, travel time 1:45 compared to 1:10 by ICE). The ticket is valid for local transport in Nürnberg, too. You can bring up those trains on the DB website by requesting an intermediate stop of 00:01 at "Kinding". All other direct RE's going through Treuchtlingen (München - Augsburg - Treuchtlingen, München - Ingolstadt - Treuchtlingen) or Regensburg are awfully slow.
Old Sep 19th, 2016, 07:47 AM