Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Pre and Post Cruise in Prague and Budapest

Old Dec 12th, 2010, 07:50 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This is an account of a visit to Prague, which was arranged by AMA Waterways as a pre-cruise visit before we sailed down the Danube from Nuremburg to Budapest, and our visit to Budapest at the end of the cruise. Although I have been traveling for more than 40 years, this was my first visit to both Prague and Budapest. My companion, a former colleague with whom I have traveled numerous times, like me, had left her husband at home, was also making her first visit to these cities. Before this trip I had read a number of those posts devoted to the question of whether to visit Prague or Budapest, and having been to both, I have an answer. You will find my thoughts on that question at the end of the trip report.

October 22, 2010

I began my trip journal while we were en route to Genev from Newark, where we would catch a flight to Prague. It was October 22, and I knew from checking the weather before I left home that it would be cold in Prague, so cold that I needed either a down coat or a raincoat and a set of wool and fleece layers. Since showers were also in many of the daily forecasts, I opted for layers, but while sitting on the plane, I was already unhappy with my decision; while the layers would be handy for changeable weather, they were a hassle to keep track of and to carry around… I wondered if I had all four layers that I brought onto the plane with me and hoped I would remember to retrieve them and not drop something. (No matter how clever I think I am about packing, I always rue my decisions once underway and this trip would prove to be no exception!)

Prague – October 22, 2010 (Evening)