Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   About a Week in Germany (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/about-a-week-in-germany-1661675/)

Myer Dec 24th, 2018 03:11 AM

About a Week in Germany

I'm in the process of trying to put together a trip for this summer. App. 2 weeks.

We have a rule that we don't intend to break. We do not rent a car in Europe. We travel mostly by train and occasionally by bus. But NO CAR.

Our style is as follows; We are not really museum or church goers although we do visit the occasional ones. We walk a lot seeing and/or visiting the sights. While we're not big history buffs sights with historical significance could be of interest. I am an amateur photographer and get up early to wander. Then I get my wife, we have breakfast and do whatever we have planned for the day. We mix local sightseeing with day trips (normally within an hour by train though we might stretch that to an hour and a half for a place of interest) and are not opposed to an overnight day trip where we sleep over while keeping our base hotel. Last summer we did this in France going to Bruges for one night and Tours (chateaux country) for two nights. We probably wouldn't do this more than once during the whole trip.

The first week would most likely have us based in Amsterdam (we've been there twice over a period of many years) and do three or four day trips.

Originally the second part would have us based in Porto, Portugal (we visited Lisbon two years ago and were very pleasantly surprised). For some reason my wife wasn't too excited with the Porto part and suggested Germany where we've never been. We're really open to which city would be our base for the week. We'd lean toward a city that we can get to fairly easily from Amsterdam by train or air, be a return point to the U.S. and one that we would find interesting on its own for a few days.