Reload this Page >

A woman traveling alone in Spain

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 18th, 2000, 06:55 AM
sheila

Hey out there- I am planning a trip this fall alone to Spain... Are there any particularily good places to travel, or on the other hand, and more importantly, any particularily bad places for me to travel. I don't know the language and I have never been to Europe-so questions abound. Are there any good resorts (or resort areas)along costa del sol that someone can recommend for a young single new college graduate interested in the arts, live music, dancing (especially dancing), and cultural experiences?

Old Aug 19th, 2000, 05:24 AM
julie

Wow--bold move. I strongly suggest you check out several books and web sites about women travelling alone. You may find it daunting to be in Europe for the first time and unable to communicate in the language. I spent 8 months travelling half way around the world when I was a new college graduate (1992). I had travelled quite a bit prior to that experience, and I was nearly fluent in French. I had a wonderful experience, but I was damn glad I had had some previous experience abroad. Check out the book, "Women Travel--Adventures, Advice, and Experience" edited by Miranda Davies and Natania Jansz.

Old Aug 19th, 2000, 12:54 PM
Katie