Reload this Page >

re-learning some French in two months?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 1st, 2001, 10:40 AM
Kristl

I was an average French student in High school and College. I'm leaving for Paris 4/29. What recommendations does anyone have for a crash course in conversational French for someone who knows just enough to be frustrated.

Old Mar 1st, 2001, 10:45 AM
hhouston

Same story for me. Going to France in March. I bought "Learn French in Your Car" CD's at Border's Books and Music. You can also look on the Internet and find other versions. I have been using them for about a month and they really have jogged my memory. They might be a little difficult to catch if someone is new to French.

Old Mar 1st, 2001, 11:10 AM
julie

I refreshed with the fodors language help at the bottom of the home page. It has sound. It was a good "free" start.

Old Mar 1st, 2001, 01:10 PM
Carolyn

I share your background in the French language (although "average" may be generous for me). Before my trip to Paris in February I picked up "French for Dummies" from Barnes & Noble. I found it straight-forward and humorous, with chapter titles such as "10 Things NOT to Say". <BR> <BR>Even with my limited vocabulary, I found it easy and fun to communicate.

Old Mar 1st, 2001, 01:28 PM
Lesli

I just reviewed my phrasebook (I like Rick Steves' for its conversational style) while riding public transit to and from work. Also watched several moives in French, to get my ear used to the pronunciation. Was amazed at how much came back to me!

Old Mar 1st, 2001, 02:27 PM
Ger

Kristl: <BR> <BR>Try "Transparent Languages", web site: <BR> <BR>http://www.transparentlanguage.com/sub_products.htm <BR> <BR>I picked them up very cheaply in local technology store (about Can$30 on sale). it is an interactive CD, comes with a microphone and allows one to practice he accent. Limited depth, but great practice. <BR> <BR>Regards <BR> <BR>

Old Mar 1st, 2001, 08:36 PM
Andrea