Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   a little nervous about arrival in uk (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/a-little-nervous-about-arrival-in-uk-86581/)

lisa Sep 15th, 2000 09:16 PM

a little nervous about arrival in uk

i have posted a few questions on this forum before, all in attempts to answer my questions about living in durham, england during the next school year. people have been so nice and helpful that i thought i'd try once more... <BR> <BR> i am an american student who will be studying there and i am leaving in 2 weeks. the closer it gets, the more nervous i am becoming. so, i a have a few questions- any responses would be much appreciated. <BR> <BR>first off, any suggestions for calming my nerves? do i have any reason to be nervous? i'm not stupid, and i have been trying to educate myself as much as possible, but i have never been to europe and so i feel like i am walking into the situation a little blind. <BR> <BR>secondly, suggestions on what i can do to make myself blend in as much as possible? necessity dictates that i carry an obnoxious red suitcase and i'll have a backpack... but don't worry, no fanny pack here (or bum bag, i guess :)) for instance, i've heard practically everyone wears black- is this true? and i'm bringing my laptop- anyone have creative ideas for making your laptop bag look like something else? or should i just leave extra room in my back pack and hide it there when i arrive? (but i'm a little nervous about not having it within my sight). <BR> <BR>and thirdly, my travel plans are that my plan is to land on a fri at 9:05am. i am then planning on taking the piccadilly line to kings cross station and from there catching a train north to durham. i have read other posters who have run into lots of unforseen problems during this sort of route. does anyone see any possible glitches in my plan? for example, is it go