Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

A conflict on where to visit, 3 1/2 weeks

Old May 13th, 1999, 10:08 AM
George

i am a 19 year college student from NY who will be traveling through europe alone. I am doing the Europass thing. Anyhow, I am not to sure where to exactly to decide where to visit. Scandanevia vs. Southern Europe? I am concerned about how to long to stay in cities such as Prague, Paris, Amsterdamn, and Stockholm(all cities I really want to visit). But, I also want to visit outside of cities ito the country like Bavaria, Italy, Portugal, etc.

Not enough of time I suppose.

Old May 13th, 1999, 10:53 AM
Lee

George: Our son just finished his final semester at the University of Manchester through Penn State (hey, we got married young!) and is doing something like you've described.

He visited Ireland and Scotland while at school and when he finished, he was off on the continent. He had us purchase the 10 day-two month Eurail Pass over here for about $460.00 Leaving from London, he made his was to Brugges, Brussels and then to Amsterdam. He then headed to Berlin, then Prague, on to Budapest and into Vienna, Austria. West to Salzburg and he called on Mothers' Day (what a guy!) from Berchtesgaden. He then went to Munich and was heading down to Garmisch, Ettal, Oberammergau, etc., the last time we talked. I believe that he is going into Switzerland, through Provence and finally, to Paris before returning to London to fly back home. I think that Spain is optional, depending on time (money) and he already went to Italy for a week at Easter.

He's been traveling with two other guys and has been staying in hostels. Quite the traveler, I'd say.

Hope that provides some ideas.

Old May 13th, 1999, 11:24 AM
elvira