Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   8 Days Rome - Florence - Venice - Milan with parents! (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/8-days-rome-florence-venice-milan-with-parents-704567/)

mphetamin May 12th, 2007 10:31 AM

8 Days Rome - Florence - Venice - Milan with parents!

Hi!

I'm new to this, and any help is much appreciated.

I'm travelling to Italy July 10-18, and have flights to Rome and departing from Milan on these dates. Was hoping to spend 3 nights in Rome, maybe one in Florence (or as a day trip from Rome to save our spines) and Venice 2 nights, then one night Milan for our flight at 10pm July 18 from Bergamo (BGY) airport.

At the moment, I have rooms booked for Venice 2 nights, and Rome 3 nights (awaiting final confirmation).

1. Should I extend Rome to 4 nights and to avoid losing time transferring to Florence for a night (instead do a Florence day trip)? I do however want to see the Uffizi and Accademia galleries if I am going to Florence.

2. I am planning to travel by train from either Rome or Florence to Venice (rooms booked July 15-17).

3. Should we get the overnight train (July 17) from Venice to Milan so we don't need to book a one night stay in Milan, just arrive in the morning and look around? However that means we're wandering around with our luggage for 12 hours.

4. Most of the info provided for Milan airports do not mention Bergamo (BGY). How expensive and far out is it by public transport e.g. trains/subway/bus? As it occasionally works out, 3 people sharing a taxi costs little more than individual tickets.

Really appreciate any suggestions/tips, thanks!!

Kimmy, Liverpool x

ekscrunchy May 12th, 2007 10:37 AM