Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   48 Hours around Avignon, I have come up with a Driving Plan (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/48-hours-around-avignon-i-have-come-up-with-a-driving-plan-1090806/)

DanielJ Mar 23rd, 2016 06:50 PM

48 Hours around Avignon, I have come up with a Driving Plan

Date of Travel:
Arrive in Avignon by TGV - May 9th 12 Noon
Depart Avignon by TGV - May 11th 12 Noon

This is part of my 15 day trip in France. I will be picking up a rental car at Avignon once I get off the train.

This is my first time in France and I am doing a solo trip. My basic interests are Landscapes, nature and country sides. I have done my research and put together two road maps.

Day 1 Driving Plan - I have to split this up for on the day of arrival and for on the day I leave.

Arles
Fontvieille
Les Baux-de-Provence
St Rémy-de-Provence
Glanum
Plan-d’Orgon
Mérindol
Lourmarin
Bonnieux
Ménerbes
Roussillon
Gordes
Cabrières-d’Avignon
Fontaine-de-Vaucluse
Avignon

Day 2 Driving Plan - Plan to start very early on the 10th, maybe at around 6 AM

Lorgues
Villecroze
Tourtour
Ampus
Châteaudouble
Comps-sur-Artuby
Gorges du Verdon
Moustiers-Sainte-Marie
Les Salles-sur-Verdon
Aups
Sillans-la-Cascade
Cotignac
Carcès
Abbaye du Thoronet

I would seek some insights into my plan please, I was wondering if this is realistic or should I just stick with one plan as I have half day, full day and half day which consists of 48 hours. Please advise. I have also not booked places to stay for these two nights as I am not sure where it would be best to stay with this plan.

Your suggestions are invaluable. Thank you.

grandmere Mar 23rd, 2016 08:41 PM