Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   3 wks till Ireland - what am I forgetting? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/3-wks-till-ireland-what-am-i-forgetting-90693/)

Debbie Oct 20th, 2000 05:29 AM

3 wks till Ireland - what am I forgetting?

Hi all, <BR> well it is 3 weeks until I leave for Ireland. I have this odd feeling I am forgetting something, so I figured I would check with you. <BR> <BR> What is your best / favorite tip on packing, photography, driving in ireland (!), <BR>travel in November.... <BR> <BR> This is my first time in Ireland & my first time driving a rental outside the USA. <BR>(I was in England/Scotland a few years ago, but did not drive). <BR> <BR>any ideas will be welcomed. <BR>thanks!

Harriett Oct 20th, 2000 06:01 AM

I am also preparing for our trip to Ireland - we leave on Tuesday for 10 days. I was going through my old Ireland notes and reminded myself of a few things: take tapes or CDs for the car - I never remember to do that, and we do enjoy listening to the radio in Ireland, but tapes or cds are nice too! Take coffee cups if you like to have a cup while you're driving. This may have changed since our first trip, but then we found NO styrofoam (or takeaway) cups anywhere, and sometimes we just wanted to have a cup of coffee or tea as we drove. Eat ice cream -- even if it's cold outside. I didn't discover how wonderful the ice cream there was until the end of the first trip, so I'll start sooner this time! If I think of anything else, I'll add more later. Have a splendid trip!

Patrick Oct 20th, 2000 06:15 AM

Not to be negative or overly obvious, but hope you have packed a hooded rain coat, umbrella, and boots. Not to be prepared for rain would be a mistake.

Cindy Oct 20th, 2000 06:15 AM