Search

3 weeks in one city in Italy.

Search this Thread

Old Apr 15th, 2018, 10:19 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3 weeks in one city in Italy.

Hi all,

I have never done this type of travel before, so I'm looking for some advice.

My wife and I are well travelled mid-30s with a 1 year old. Instead of trecking around the continent we would like to find a city to base ourselves in for roughly 3 weeks in January, and really get to know and enjoy the city. I know it'll be cold, when it's hot in Australia we like to head to Europe. We would be looking for a city with enough things to keep us busy, some good day trips in the vacinity and a place with a good food and cafe culture so we can waste away our days drinking coffee and people watching. We enjoy history, architecture and food. At the moment the top of our lists are Turin, Florence and Milan. Would anyone suggest one or the other, or perhaps another Italian city? I speak some Italian and will enjoy using it as mcuh as possible during the stay.

Grazie!
Old Apr 15th, 2018, 10:41 PM

I'd pick Rome.

It's bigger with more to do and see.

It's an easy train ride to Florence or even Milan if you wanted to. Or south to Naples. Turin is off on it's own a bit requiring a longer train ride. Too long IMHO for a day trip.

OTOH Venice that time of year is less full on touristy.
Old Apr 15th, 2018, 11:11 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Rome was my first thought too. I might also look at Bologna, lots of covered walkways and great train links to lovely places.
Old Apr 15th, 2018, 11:58 PM

We have visited Venice half a dozen times, staying for a month or two on each visit. We are Aussies also, and the experience of real cold was fun. Ice in the campos and on the canals on Torcello. Venice is well connected by train so day trips are easy.
Old Apr 16th, 2018, 12:09 AM