Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   3 Weeks in europe by train (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/3-weeks-in-europe-by-train-1702917/)

jv106 Nov 7th, 2021 04:19 AM

3 Weeks in europe by train

Hey folks,

me and my wife looking forward to travel through europe (interrail) in june next year. 21 nights are possible. We are living in the north west of germany and decided to not visit any german spots. Being a total newbie in planning iterneraries, i want to ask you whether this plan is too tough or not:

Amsterdam (2 Nights)
Brugges (2 Nights)
Paris (3 Nights)
Straßbourg (2 Nights)
Interlaken/Grindelwald (2 Nights)
Florence (3 Nights)
Venice (3 Nights)
Lake Bled (1 Night, more as stopp off between Venice and Budapest, if we get a 0.5-1 day sightseeing there it would be totally fine for me)
Budapest (3 Nights) (plane back to cologne)

Note that: we visited Amsterdam and Paris several times so there isn't really a need to stay that long. I know that I'm not really get detailed impression of every region/city but for us its more important to get an overview over west/central europe. We understand this trip as foundation for more "detailed" trips in the different regions in the future. If you have any suggestions for other destinations, being better or more attractive alongside this general route, please let me know. Also this plan is a first try of mine and is of course not set in stone.

Thanks in advance,

bilboburgler Nov 7th, 2021 06:15 AM

have you read up seat61.com which is a great English Language website on European Trains?

The sites are fine and a good selection of European cities

If you've been to Paris and Amsterdam before you might prefer to add something like Reims and cut one back, don't forget to add in time to wash clothes (so reduce carry weight) and think about picnics for the longer train journey.

janisj Nov 7th, 2021 07:13 AM