Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   3 precious weeks in Italy (first time) (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/3-precious-weeks-in-italy-first-time-1021875/)

Perryn Aug 2nd, 2014 06:20 PM

3 precious weeks in Italy (first time)

Hello

I have 3 very precious weeks in Italy. It is my first time and I would love some guidance.
I fly to Rome 16/9/14 and I leave from Milan 6/10/14. I am travelling solo for this trip.

I am travelling mostly to find some heart and soul and because I have long dreamed of doing it in Italy. That said this has come about fairly "last minute" and I need some help.

My interests are in food, wine, beautiful landscapes, culture and the small details that make the difference. I'm also a newbie at photography so will look for those opportunities too. I want to spend as much time as I can in Florence and the Tuscan region but want to do Rome as a start and would love to spend a few days in Como, before heading to Milan at the end of my trip.

I have questions like where to stay in Rome and how long to spend there (3 days?), where to stay in Florence and then how to approach my trip into Tuscany. I plan to hire a car and see and do as much as possible without being frantic and missing the point.

I haven't booked anything yet, am starting that now.

Thank you

simpsonc510 Aug 2nd, 2014 07:02 PM

Three weeks! I'm jealous! A good friend and I will leave in two weeks to spend just 10 days in Italy. Wish we had more time. We fly into Venice and out of Rome. We are trying the Hotel Pendini in Florence. Don't know if it would fit your needs.

We are staying near Rome airport, not spending time in the city at all this trip.

Photo ops abound in the Italian hilltop towns around Tuscany. I'm sure you'll take hundreds of pix.

Perryn Aug 2nd, 2014 08:10 PM