Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

3-day trip: Scotland, Wales, Lakes, or Yorkshire?

Old Jun 16th, 2004, 02:57 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello,

I'm studying at Cambridge this summer, and my flight from the US arrives a few days early. I want to spend those days hiking, boating, cycling, and/or horseback riding in a place with a nice mix of great scenery, high peaks, lovely lakes or coastline, and nearby history (castles, abbeys, etc.).

However, not having seen these places, I'm at a loss as to where to go, and guidebook descriptions do not help.

I was thinking of one of these places:

North York Moors National Park and Whitby

Yorkshire Dales National Park

Lake District National Park

River Wye and the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park

Snowdonia National Park

Scotland: Glen Coe area mountains or islands like Arran, etc.

I'm arriving at Gatwick at 9:30 am on Thur 1 July, and I have to be at Cambridge train station no later than 3:00 pm on Sun 4 July.

Obviously, travel times have to be taken into consideration. I will have to rely on public transport.

Any suggestions about the places above or others not mentioned?
Old Jun 16th, 2004, 04:09 PM

I am partial to the Yorkshire Dales (where my sweetie lives) which has lots and lots of great hiking and scenery. Only one small lake in Yorkshire Dales though. I also love Snowdonia which has great hiking and beautiful vistas. Northern Wales also has several castles and lots of history (esp Edward I). You might also think about heading north to Hadrian's Wall which is great for hiking and history. You'll probably want to hire a car if you go to any of these areas.
All the areas you named are beautiful so I don't think you'd go wrong with any of them.
Old Jun 16th, 2004, 11:03 PM