Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   2-3 weeks Eastern/Southeastern Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/2-3-weeks-eastern-southeastern-europe-1087125/)

ccatone Feb 19th, 2016 08:23 AM

2-3 weeks Eastern/Southeastern Europe

I'm looking to travel to Eastern Europe for 2 to 3 weeks. This is my first time traveling to this area and my particular interest lies in Romania. I would like to visit Bucharest as well as Transylvania. I am trying to figure out what other countries I can visit that would be nearby and would be worthwhile seeing in that time span. I was considering landing in Bucharest and then making my way to Berlin through Budapest, Vienna, Prague and maybe Bratislava. I'm just not sure how much I will actually be able to see in that time span. Some people have advised I pick a few cities or make a loop around Romania. Another option I was considering was visitin Kiev and making my way to Budapest via Romania. Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated!!!

PalenQ Feb 19th, 2016 09:31 AM

landing in Bucharest and then making my way to Berlin through Budapest, Vienna, Prague and maybe Bratislava.>

Going by train? If so check the Eastern European Railpass that lets you hop on most trains in Poland, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary and the Czech Republic - the more days of travel the cheaper per day and gives you total flexibility - for lots of great info on trains in that area check www.seat61.com; www.budgeteuropetravel.com and www.ricksteves.com.

annhig Feb 19th, 2016 09:37 AM

Another option would be Bulgaria - we had 3 brilliant days in Sofia a few months ago and we'd like to go back to see more of the countryside which looked very interesting; there are also the Black Sea resorts, and you could end up in Istanbul.