Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

1st time to Italy and lots of questions re:hotel, car, meals

Jun 13th, 2011, 01:55 PM
Original Poster

Hi everyone!
I am taking my first trip to Italy! I am so excited ..been to many other places in Europe but never there! My friend and I are going from Sept 3- 17th. Our itinerary is below and would love soem input. I will put questions as I type the itinerary. Thanks in advance!

Sept 4th arrive in am from over night lfight- Venice
9/4- Venice
9/5 venice, leave at night to head to FLorence by train
9/6- Florence
9/7 Florence
9/8 wake up, rent car, and head to Tuscany region..plan is to stay here..friends stayed there and loved it..my question: is it a good location to take day trips around to other towns in Tuscany? Any suggestions for wine tours? Cooking classes (I am a chef and wolud love to take a cooking class in tuscany)
http://www.lariservamontebello.com/index_eng.htm
9/9 -tuscany
9/10-tuscany
9/11-tuscany
9/12- return car and leave for Almafi coast- or should I drive to Almafi coast and then ddrop off the car?
9/13- positano
9/14-positano
9/15- positano
9-/16 positano and leave for rome for sleeping overnight- any suggestions for a hotel near the train station so we can jsmp on in the am to the airport? Also, what is the earliest that the trains run.
9/17 go home

Any suggestions on must see things. My friend and I are not much into art. but more into soaking up the atmosphere and culture of the locals,. I prefer restaurants that the locals frequent over "touristy" places.
Thank you so much! can't wait!!!

oh, and will it be warm enough to bring a bathing suit?
Jun 13th, 2011, 02:14 PM

Well - everyone had their own ideas but I can;t believe you are oging to italy and not spenidng at least 3 or 4 days in Rome. The Tuscan hill towns are quaint - but they didn't rule the world for the best part of a millennium.
Jun 13th, 2011, 02:25 PM
Original Poster