Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   1st time to Belgium (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/1st-time-to-belgium-430791/)

jalong May 11th, 2004 08:45 PM

1st time to Belgium

I will be traveling from Frankfurt to Paris via Belgium. This is my first time to Europe and I would enjoy seeing Belgium for 2-3 days and sampling Belgium beer. Recommendations on a great place to visit en route to Paris. Thank You!

DAX May 11th, 2004 09:01 PM

The obvious suggestion would be to research Brugge, Ghent & Antwerp. Brussells is arguably a mini version of Paris.

francophile03 May 11th, 2004 09:06 PM

In my opinion, Brussels does not compare to Paris at all. It's not as scenic. All of its tourist sights are great but I found the city to be unattractive. Granted I spent only one day there but what I saw was enough. Again, this is just my opinion.

francophile03 May 11th, 2004 09:07 PM

I did like the chocolates alot though!

DAX May 11th, 2004 09:20 PM

I agree with you francophile and I've been to Brussells a few times. I just don't want to upset members who live in Brussels. Besides I'm going to Brussels again next month, I have to think positively.

francophile03 May 11th, 2004 09:35 PM

Hi Dax, just get some chocolates and you'll be ok!:)

BTilke May 11th, 2004 11:39 PM

Francophile and DAX, a few questions since you believe one day was enough for Brussels:
Did you wander around the Parc Woluwe? Visit the Van Buren Museum?
Take a stroll around the Etangs in Ixelles and have a coffee by the fireplace (or on the terrace) at Canterbury's?
Stop for a meal at Les Brasseries Georges?
Try the Place Chatelain outdoor market?
Look for gourment souvenirs at Rob's Fine Foods?
Have an afternoon drink at Au Vieux St. Martin?
Dance on the tables at Mappa?
Attend a preview at the Horta auction house?