Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   1st Time European Traveller (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/1st-time-european-traveller-741300/)

keep_fishin06 Oct 7th, 2007 10:58 AM

1st Time European Traveller

I'm a college student from the Midwest traveling to Prague over Spring Break with approximately 15 other students. I'm in charge of planning the trip. I was wondering if anyone had any helpful tips to help me plan (and also help me adjust to international travel and/or flying for the first time). Thanks!

logos999 Oct 7th, 2007 11:08 AM

Be careful, a beer is $1.30 in a pub ;-)

StCirq Oct 7th, 2007 11:11 AM

You alone are in charge of planning the trip? That doesn't seem fair. And you alone will be the culprit when something goes wrong.

Why can't you all work on different aspects of the trip and you just coordinate it? There are a gazillion websites to investigate, plus libraries and bookstores chock full of guidebooks, maps, videos, and more.

And this site is really useful, too, but in order to help you get started we need to know how long you're going to be there, what your budget is, if you're planning to approach this as a herd or split up into small groups...that kind of stuff, plus what your general interests are.

suze Oct 7th, 2007 11:19 AM

You are planning everything yourself? Finding flights for 16 people? Hotel for 16 people? Activities? You'll be in charge of everyone after you arrive? If yes, that's quite a task for someone who has never been to Europe before, I'm afraid!

My first suggestion I guess is to get 1-2 guidebooks specific to Prague. Then read here on Fodor's, Trip Advisor, and Lonely Planet's Thorn Tree forum all previously posted information on Prague.

ira Oct 7th, 2007 01:07 PM

Hi K,

>I'm in charge of planning the trip. <

How many members are on the planning committee of which you are the chair?