Search

Help with Italy Itinerary: October 2016

Search this Thread

Old May 21st, 2016, 11:24 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help with Italy Itinerary: October 2016

Hello,

I am a woman in my late 20's and am planning my first trip to Europe since I studied abroad in Finland during college. I love art/architecture/culture/history. I am not into the party life.

I am traveling to Italy this fall for the first time. For the bulk of my trip, I will be on a 8 night hiking/biking tour of the Amalfi Coast. Through the organized group tour Ciclismo Classico, I am staying in Positano 3 nights, Ravello 2 nights and S. Maria del Castellabate 3 nights. I have already placed my deposit on the tour, so this cannot change. The rest of the time, I will be solo.

Things the tour covers: tons of hiking/biking through Positano, Ravello, Paestum, Capri and more, Villa Jovis, Villa Cimbrone gardens, Paestum Greek temples

Things the tour does not cover that I am interested in: major cities and their museums, Pompeii/Herculaneum

My question is what I should do with my remaining time in Italy (an extra 6-7 days)? I am coming from the US, and have yet to make my flight. I have requested the time off work, but if it would help to adjust my dates around the tour I could change it so that all my solo time is at the beginning of the trip.

The following Itinerary is all Rome and Southern Italy. I feel like I might be able to fit another major city in there--maybe Florence, but I am not sure. It seems like there is a lot to do in Rome.

Itinerary:

Wednesday, October 5th: Board plane from USA to Italy

Thursday, October 6th: Arrive morning in Italy; either arrive into Rome and catch a train to Naples directly, or fly into Naples, spend night in Naples

Friday, October 7th: See Pompeii and/or Herculaneum; spend night in Naples

Saturday, October 8th: Join tour group at Salerno train station at 12 pm for transfer to Positano