Notices

14 days Paris, Basque country, barcelona

Old Nov 16th, 2014, 03:13 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
14 days Paris, Basque country, barcelona

our family of 6 (kids are 17 to 21) are planning a trip this July for 14 days in Europe. We are planning to fly into Paris and stay for 3 nights, drive to San Sebastian stopping along the way in Bordeaux and may stay a night or two along the way. We will then spend 3 nights in San Sebastian with a day trip to Rioja. Bilbao for a night and then to Barcelona and or Madrid for the remainder of time. I would really like to see the Basque Country, as we heard it is beautiful and worth the visit. I'm a little worried that we are moving around too much. We have also considered a home base of San Sebastian or another town with day trip from there to Bilbao and Rioja. I've been to Madrid 20+ years ago, so was hoping to experience a different city in Barcelona, but not sure in July this is the best choice.

Also, is a car the best way to travel to San Sebastian with stops in Bordeaux or could we do this on a train?

Any suggestions would be appreciated!
Old Nov 16th, 2014, 04:51 PM

Well I think you're giving Paris short shrift unless you have seen most of the sights already. I would bag bordeaux and add days to Paris and then train or fly directly to San sebastian. As for Barcelona/Madrid - the former is on the coast and has beaches and more moderate weather than Madrid which tends to be super hot in summer (we were there at the end of April and it was 99 and humid).
Old Nov 17th, 2014, 04:24 AM

Great info about the wonderful and diverse Basque Country.
http://tourism.euskadi.net/en/
http://www.euskoguide.com/
Old Nov 17th, 2014, 05:35 AM