Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

14 days in late May. Looking for beautiful scenery, hiking, and photograph opportunit

Search

14 days in late May. Looking for beautiful scenery, hiking, and photograph opportunit

Search this Thread

Old Jan 8th, 2019, 06:10 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My wife and I are looking for some ideas for a trip to Europe in May. The only "must" is that we do Switzerland for 5-6 days. Otherwise we are COMPLETELY open to anyone's advice. We mostly want beautiful areas with good hiking (day hikes), photography opportunities (I am a photographer), and not too much snow.

The tentative plans for our trip are below
  1. (2 nights) Fly into Munich. I love beer so going to check a few of the breweries out. Also using it as a base camp to do some hiking near Garmisch-Partenkirchen area.
  2. (2 nights) Salzburg. Hike a few of the scenic areas there.
  3. (1 night) Trento Italy. A quick hike somewhere to see the dolomite mountains.
  4. (1 night) Florence to see the sights/eat some food
  5. (1 night) Cinque Terre for 1 day. Hike the high trail from Volastra to Corniglia.
  6. (5 nights) Grindelwald area. Use that as a base camp to check out some hikes, visit Grueyere etc.
  7. (1 night) Zurich for the night before flying back home to Pittsburgh

My questions are:
- Will the weather be decent in these areas for hiking in late May?
- Is the itinerary too aggressive ?
- Should we do public transportation? I looked into a rental car, and it seems to be the cheaper option.

Thanks so much!
Old Jan 8th, 2019, 06:32 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
For historical weather data see: https://www.wunderground.com/

Yes, it is too aggressive, you don't seem to have allowed for travel time (and if you are using drive times from google maps they will be too optimistic, you might try this instead: https://www.viamichelin.com/ )