Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   13 day Scotland tour --based on train routes-- (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/13-day-scotland-tour-based-on-train-routes-290527/)

sarah77 Feb 19th, 2003 01:27 PM

13 day Scotland tour --based on train routes--

hello everyone! well..today I booked my ticket for my exciting trip to England, NI, North Western Ireland and Scotland. I am touring solo and I have a month to spend in these lovely Countries. I am just beginning to look into my travels within Scotland. I have about 13 days to spend in Scotland and am relying on the train service to get me from place to place. I will be taking a ferrie over from NI into Stranaer and so this will be my starting point. Can anyone suggest a good route that I should take? I hope to make it up to Wick and Thurso -is that a good idea? Will the trains get me to the best spots or should I look into buses as well. I need to end up in Aberdeen for my final weekend to visit family and then I will head down to Edinburgh to fly home. Is there a ferrie that can get me from Mallaig to Kyle of Lockalsh? if so ..is anyone aware of the prices? I plan on getting a Freedom of Scotland rail pass which offeres 8 days travel within 15 days. Any advice would be very much appreciated. I apologize for all of my questions. My mind is scattered at the moment--very excited I guess since just purchasing my ticket 2 hours ago. : ) Thanks in advance. <BR>Sarah

jonesie Feb 19th, 2003 02:05 PM